Non-Destructive Photoshop Techniques

A huge element of this assignment is creating a final photoreal image through non-destructive photoshop techniques. A non-destructive photoshop technique allows you to make changes to your assets without permanently damaging your image’s pixels, meaning that you can easily revert back to previous states if you change your mind. This is impossible with Photoshop if you have saved and exited on your session and want to make additional changes when you re-open it.

We learned a lot of these techniques during tutorials, and even though we put them in to use in class, we had to absorb so much information in such a short amount of time that most of it has been released from my brain again. This research post has helped kickstart my memory and recall these processes again.

When I made a mock-up of my desired final piece, I saw that there was quite a lot of photo editing that I needed to do to my photos to give it the right impact. I ended up using destructive processes for my progress photo since I had 100% forgotten what to do. The first thing I looked up was adjustment layers, an insanely handy technique that allows me to continuously touch up my photos until they are perfect. When doing my progress image I had to apply adjustments directly to the image, no matter how hard I pushed my brain to remember back to what we learned in class, so this will be one of the most useful procedures for me.

Alongside this I found a video which outlined most of the main elements we we taught in tutorials such as layer masks, adjustment layers (again), smart objects and smart filters.

The easy to follow instructions and video showing which buttons to press will be useful when I get flustered and frustrated during my final production of my image this coming week.

Leave a Reply

