Summary

My infographic is “how to make the best smoothie ever.” The overall intended communication objeective was to show the method for creating a parody smoothie, where all the ingredients have silly attributes. I wanted to create a funny contrast to the smoothie recipes that exist at the moment, which are all insanely healthy and are full of things that are meant to be really good for you. So I created an infographic for a smoothie that has foods also chosen for their beneficial qualities, but in a more  amusing way. For example, I picked walnuts for their omega-3 content (something that we can also get from eating fish), so I wrote that it will help you breathe underwater by growing gills. I had a lot of fun coming up with these descriptions.

I used many of the techniques I learned during tutorials to convey my intended communication objective. The pen tool was a very useful feature, letting me trace images to create my own vectors. The direct selection tool was also extremely useful when I had made a few mistakes, or my shapes didn’t fit properly, letting me easily manipulate individual points to move everything into position.

I used the pathfinder tool when creating my vector image for my blender. I was able to layer two shapes on top of each other and cut one shape out so that it created that handle for my blender cup – I didn’t think it would be useful when we practiced it in class, but it ended up making the process a lot easier. The different alignment tools were also handy throughout production. Because I had to align different typography elements in different areas of the page, it was super easy being able to click a single button and watch them all fall into place.

Having the ability to group objects was probably the most useful element for the whole assignment. Grouping vectors once they were complete made it easy for me to manipulate them and move them around the page, creating an easy to read infographic that achieved my intended communication objective.

Knowing how to create gradients allowed me to make more realistic vector images. Using gradients give vectors another level of dimension, making my images look more like their real-life counterparts. Without gradients my images are hardly recognisable or aesthetically pleasing, so using gradients really enhanced my infographic. Additionally, knowing how to create multiple strokes and add gradients to them helped me to add more realism to my avocado vector and also create a 3D effect on the buttons at the base of my blender vector.

Considering I’d never opened Illustrator before starting this assignment, I’m very pleased with what I’ve created. I used a variety of skills we learned in class, as well as others online to create my final images, helping me to achieve my intended communication objective. I feel my skills have allowed me to portray my message of ‘how to create the best smoothie ever’ effectively.

Leave a Reply

